Sociology Professor, International scholarship Recipients Honored

Scott Fitzgerald, associate professor of sociology in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, is the 2016 recipient of the International Education Faculty Award, presented at the 22nd annual International Education Celebration.

A UNC Charlotte faculty member since 2003, Fitzgerald was instrumental in providing leadership to the Global Village Learning Community. He collaborated with students to ensure they completed 40 hours of service learning with a variety of local organizations, including those that work with immigrant and international populations.

In addition, he established a Habitat for Humanity Study Abroad program in El Salvador. This program combines experiential and international learning and develops an intellectual community. A cadre of UNC Charlotte students work alongside homeowners and local masons in Ahuachapán, El Salvador to build the foundation for new homes, while learning about the families’ culture and lives.

“I have had countless students over the years tell me details about Dr. Fitzgerald’s teaching and how he challenges and inspires them,” says Stephanie Moller, professor and chair of the Department of Sociology. “Dr. Fitzgerald has a passion for teaching and global awareness that students appreciate and to which they respond.”

Scott FitzgeraldFitzgerald received a $2,000 stipend, presented by Dianna Rowan, social work, and Joël Gallegos, assistant provost for international programs.

During the celebration, scholarship recipients and writing competition winners also were acknowledged, including students from the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Mary Elizabeth Moore, a graduate student in Latin American studies, received the Student International Education Award in honor of her contributions to and involvement with international programs at UNC Charlotte.

Serena Greene, a psychology major; received the Morrow International Undergraduate Student Scholarship. This $1,000 award is presented to an international degree-seeking undergraduate of the University. Others receiving this scholarship were Keyao Wang, a finance major; and Maria Zubillaga, an architecture major.

Winners of the International Graduate Student Scholarship were Coline Dony (geography) and Abhilash Patni, (engineering management). Recipients will receive $1,000.

Juliana Martins Imperador, English Language Training Institute; and Meghan Shea, an undergraduate student in political science and public administration; won the Crossing Borders Writing Competition, sponsored by the Mu chapter of Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars, the Office of International Programs and the UNC Charlotte International Club. Yu-Chen Hsu, a graduate student in electrical engineering, also this competition.

CLAS undergraduate students Lauren Lee (biology) and Lamia Suko (political science) and graduate student Kyle McLain (history), along with graduate student Laura Myers (business administration), received honorable mention in the writing contest.

Words: Roslyn Lewis | Image of Fitzgerald: Lynn Roberson; Image of Students: Courtesy of Scott Fitzgerald

Skip to toolbar